Jason Kinsey Award


DEADLINE 2019: November 2, 2018


From its earliest days, Jason Kinsey served NAPDS tirelessly as the conference coordinator with the University of South Carolina’s conference planning unit. He handled association and annual conference logistics and arrangements gracefully and efficiently, always available by phone or email to address concerns from members and officers. Upon his untimely death in 2015, the NAPDS leadership team established an award in his honor for individuals who have made important contributions, over time, to the organization.


The criteria for the Jason Kinsey Award are intentionally vague, as the organization recognizes that contributions may take many forms. The essential qualification is that the individual to be honored must have served to advance the mission and goals of NAPDS in a significant and enduring way.


Nominations for the Jason Kinsey Award must be submitted electronically to the NAPDS Awards Committee at awards@napds.org no later than the first Friday in November. If no suitable nominations are received, no award will be given.


The selection of the Jason Kinsey Award honoree will be made by vote of the NAPDS leadership team upon recommendation by a subcommittee of the Awards Committee. The Jason Kinsey Award subcommittee will consist of at least three individuals who have been NAPDS members for a minimum of five years.


A Jason Kinsey Award plaque will be awarded at the Annual NAPDS Conference. The Awards Committee will make arrangements for the honoree to be in attendance without revealing the award to the honoree in advance, if possible. Following the conference, the Awards Committee will prepare a press release for dissemination by the honoree, as desired.